If you’re looking to close an account due to a bereavement, please visit our bereavement page for guidance and support.
Ways to close your account
Before you close your account, make sure it’s not overdrawn and there are no pending transactions.
What you need to know
- Before you close your account, make sure all your details (such as your address and contact details) are up-to-date. See our changing your details page for more information.
- If you withdraw money from your ISA, it will lose its tax-free status. To keep your money tax free, ask your new provider to arrange it as an ISA transfer instead of withdrawing the funds.
- It’s important to note that you shouldn’t withdraw funds from a Help to Buy ISA before closing it. Transferring money out of a Help to Buy ISA will impact the bonus you may receive. See our ISA transfers page for more information.
- For more information on how to use our secure chat, please visit our chat with us online page.
- If you’re looking to close your credit card, please see our cancelling your credit card page.
Other questions you might have
If another Santander account may better suit your needs, compare our accounts and select ‘Transfer my existing Santander account’ when applying.
If you’d like to move your Santander current account to another bank, you can use the Current Account Switch Service. Visit our switching your current account page for more information.
When you close your account, any remaining balance will be returned to you by either:
- bank transfer to another account
- cheque sent to your registered address.
You can access up to 5 years of payment transaction history when you close your account. Statements can be viewed and downloaded through Mobile or Online Banking.
If you don’t have Online Banking, you can sign up on our Online Banking page. Alternatively, you can visit your local branch to request a paper copy.
When you close your account, any Direct Debits and standing orders will be automatically cancelled.
If your account has been inactive for a long time, then we may make your account dormant to help reduce the risk of fraud. We’ll contact you before this happens.
Visit our dormant accounts page to find out how to reactivate or close a dormant account.
We may close your account if the balance is zero and it hasn’t been used for 12 months.