You are in

Complaints data

Complaints data

Continually improving the service we offer and reducing the number of complaints we receive is very important to us. We regularly review the information we have about your complaints, which helps us to understand how we can make improvements.

What we publish
Every 6 months we publish the number of customer complaints we've received for the previous half year. We also put these figures into context using the type of products complained about.

Why we publish
The FCA require us to provide this information directly to them as well as on our own website, just as other firms have to. This data can be used as an indicator of how well we're serving our customers, for comparison purposes and also demonstrates the improvements we're making to reduce the number of complaints we receive.

 

Firm Name: Santander UK plc
 Group (If Applicable):  Santander
 Other firms included in this report (If any):  -
 Period covered in this report:  01 July 2017 – 31 December 2017
 Brands/Trading names covered:  Santander & cahoot


  Number of complaints opened by volume of business  
Product / Service Group Provision (at reporting period end date)* Intermediation (within the reporting Period)* Number of complaints opened Number of complaints closed Percentage closed within 3 days Percentage closed after 3 days but within 8 weeks Percentage upheld Main cause of complaints opened
Banking & Credit Cards  5.3 per 1000 accounts N/A 133,962 132,027 72% 27% 44% Other general admin / customer service
Home Finance 9.0 per 1000 balances outstanding N/A 11,236  10,743 57% 42% 62% Other general admin / customer service
Insurance and Pure Protection** 56.9 per 1000 polices in force N/A 34,382 41,221 1% 74% 62% Unclear guidance / arrangement
Decumulation & Pensions***  N/A N/A 64 64 16% 38% 47% Unsuitable advice
Investments** 4.3 per 1000 client accounts N/A 1,320  1,453 2% 72% 43% Unsuitable advice
Credit Related 7.6 per 1000 loans N/A 2,794 2,759 N/A N/A 51% N/A

We put the complaints figures into context using ‘per 1000’ metrics so that comparisons can be made across firms of different sizes.
Helpful notes to explain the data:

* The 'Provision' metric is used when a firm is the product provider, using the total volume of accounts held as at the end of the reporting half (31/12/2017). The 'Intermediation' metric is used when a firm is only responsible for selling the product (but isn't the provider), using the volumes of sales made during the reporting half (01/07/2017 to 31/12/2017).

** For the 'General Insurance & Pure Protection' and 'Investments' product groups, while Santander UK is responsible for selling the product, we have used the provision metric to provide more meaningful context, as we did for H1 2017.

***Decumulation, life and pensions products - Santander continues to resolve complaints relating to the advice provided at point of sale for a variety of different historic group companies. Santander had stopped advising on or selling any of these products by June 2011 and they are now either owned or administered by 3rd party firms.

Firm Name: Santander ISA Managers Limited
 Group (If Applicable):  Santander
 Other firms included in this report (If any):  -
 Period covered in this report:  01 July 2017 – 31 December 2017
 Brands/Trading names covered:  Santander ISA Managers Limited


  Number of complaints opened by volume of business  
Product / Service Group Provision (at reporting period end date)* Intermediation (within the reporting Period)* Number of complaints opened Number of complaints closed Percentage closed within 3 days Percentage closed after 3 days but within 8 weeks Percentage upheld Main cause of complaints opened
Investments 3.7 per 1000 client accounts N/A 1,135 1,385 56% 40% 53% Other general admin / customer service

 

Previous results

You can look back at our historical complaints data below:

Complaints data 01/01/2017 – 30/06/2017
Firm Name: Santander UK plc
 Group (If Applicable):  Santander
 Other firms included in this report (If any):  -
 Period covered in this report:  01 Jan 2017 – 30 June 2017
 Brands/Trading names covered:  Santander & Cahoot


  Number of complaints opened by volume of business  
Product / Service Group Provision (at reporting period end date)* Intermediation (within the reporting Period)* Number of complaints opened Number of complaints closed Percentage closed within 3 days Percentage closed after 3 days but within 8 weeks Percentage upheld Main cause of complaints opened
Banking & Credit Cards  4.7 per 1000 accounts N/A 119,221 120,841 69% 30% 46% Other general admin / customer service
Home Finance 8.4 per 1000 balances outstanding N/A 10,358  10,956 45% 50% 61% Other general admin / customer service
Insurance and Pure Protection** 44.1 per 1000 policies in force N/A 27,754 22,374 1% 97% 75% Unsuitable advice
Decumulation & Pensions***  N/A N/A 72 65 6% 57% 35% Unsuitable advice
Investments** 8.3 per 1000 client accounts N/A 2,607  2,796 6% 74% 57% Unsuitable advice
Credit Related 6.6 per 1000 loans N/A 2,517 2,529 N/A N/A 53% N/A

We put the complaints figures into context using ‘per 1000’ metrics so that comparisons can be made across firms of different sizes.

Helpful notes to explain the data:

* The 'Provision' metric is used when a firm is the product provider, using the total volume of accounts held as at the end of the reporting half (30/06/2017). The 'Intermediation' metric is used when a firm is only responsible for selling the product (but isn't the provider), using the volumes of sales made during the reporting half (01/01/2017 to 30/06/2017).

** For the 'General Insurance & Pure Protection' and 'Investments' product groups, while Santander UK is responsible for selling the product, we have used the provision metric to provide more meaningful context, as we did for H2 2016.

***Decumulation, life and pensions products - Santander continues to resolve complaints relating to the advice provided at point of sale for a variety of different historic group companies. Santander had stopped advising on or selling any of these products by June 2011 and they are now either owned or administered by 3rd party firms.

Firm Name: Santander ISA Managers Limited
 Group (If Applicable):  Santander
 Other firms included in this report (If any):  -
 Period covered in this report:  01 Jan 2017 – 30 June 2017
 Brands/Trading names covered:  Santander ISA Managers Limited


  Number of complaints opened by volume of business  
Product / Service Group Provision (at reporting period end date)* Intermediation (within the reporting Period)* Number of complaints opened Number of complaints closed Percentage closed within 3 days Percentage closed after 3 days but within 8 weeks Percentage upheld Main cause of complaints opened
Investments 2.9 per 1000 client accounts N/A 913 718 27% 64% 55% Other general admin / customer service

 

The Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) publishes firms' complaints figures and provides analysis on the recent industry complaint data. The FCA has recently made some changes to how firms should handle and report complaints. You can find more information about this here

The Financial Ombudsman Service (FOS) also publishes information about how many complaints they receive from firms and the result of these. They also provide guidance on aspects of complaints handling and produce informative publications, putting topical issues under the microscope.

Santander UK plc. Registered Office: 2 Triton Square, Regent's Place, London, NW1 3AN, United Kingdom. Registered Number 2294747. Registered in England and Wales. www.santander.co.uk. Telephone 0800 389 7000. Calls may be recorded or monitored. Authorised by the Prudential Regulation Authority and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority and the Prudential Regulation Authority. Our Financial Services Register number is 106054. You can check this on the Financial Services Register by visiting the FCA’s website www.fca.org.uk/register. Santander and the flame logo are registered trademarks.