Complaints data

Continually improving the service we offer and reducing the number of complaints we receive is very important to us. We regularly review the information we have about your complaints, which helps us to understand how we can make improvements.

What we publish

Every 6 months we publish the number of customer complaints we've received for the previous half year. We also put these figures into context using the type of products complained about.

Why we publish

The FCA require us to provide this information directly to them as well as on our own website, just as other firms have to. This data can be used as an indicator of how well we're serving our customers, for comparison purposes and also demonstrates the improvements we're making to reduce the number of complaints we receive.

Firm Name:

Santander UK plc

Group (If Applicable):    

 Santander

Other firms included in this report (If any):

-

Period covered in this report:

01 January 2018 – 30 June 2018

Brands/Trading names covered:

Santander & cahoot

Number of complaints opened by volume of business

Product / Service
Group

Provision (at reporting period end date)*

Interme- diation (within the
reporting period)*

Number of complaints opened

Number of complaints closed

Percentage closed within
3 days

Percentage closed after
3 days but
within
8 weeks

Percentage upheld

Main cause of complaints opened

Banking & Credit Cards

5.6 per 1000 accounts

N/A

143,216

145,210

73%

26%

40%

Other general admin / customer service

Home
Finance
 

9.6 per 1000 balances outstanding

N/A

11,855

12,371

45%

53%

56%

Other general admin / customer service

Insurance
and Pure Protection**

59.6 per 1000 policies in force

N/A

34,913

34,376

1%

89%

62%

Unclear guidance / arrangement

Decumulation & Pensions*** 

N/A

N/A

98

108

36%

42%

44%

Unsuitable advice

Investments**

4.2 per 1000 client accounts

N/A

1,249

1,271

2%

88%

36%

Unsuitable advice

Credit
Related
 

7.2 per 1000 loans

N/A

2,653

2,722

N/A

N/A

48%

N/A

We put the complaints figures into context using ‘per 1000’ metrics so that comparisons can be made across firms of different sizes.

Helpful notes to explain the data:

* The 'Provision' metric is used when a firm is the product provider, using the total volume of accounts held as at the end of the reporting half (30/06/2018). The 'Intermediation' metric is used when a firm is only responsible for selling the product (but isn't the provider), using the volumes of sales made during the reporting half (01/01/2018 to 30/06/2018).

** For the 'General Insurance & Pure Protection' and 'Investments' product groups, while Santander UK is responsible for selling the product, we have used the provision metric to provide more meaningful context, as we did for H2 2017.

***Decumulation, life and pensions products - Santander continues to resolve complaints relating to the advice provided at point of sale for a variety of different historic group companies. Santander had stopped advising on or selling any of these products by June 2011 and they are now either owned or administered by 3rd party firms

Firm Name: Santander ISA Managers Limited
Group (If Applicable): Santander
Other firms included in this report (If any): -
Period covered in this report: 01 January 2018 – 30 June 2018
Brands/Trading names covered: Santander ISA Managers Limited

Number of complaints opened by volume of business 

Product / Service Group

Provision (at reporting period end date)*

Intermediation (within the reporting period)*

Number of complaints opened

Number of complaints closed

Percentage closed within 3 days

Percentage closed after 3 days but within 8 weeks

Percentage upheld

Main cause of complaints opened

Investments

3.2 per 1000 client accounts

N/A

969

981

64%

35%
 

55%

Other general admin / customer service
 

You can look back at our historical complaints data below:

Complaints data 01/07/2017 – 31/12/2017

Firm Name:

Santander ISA Managers Limited

Group (If Applicable):

Santander

Other firms included in this report (If any):

-

Period covered in this report:

01 January 2018 – 30 June 2018

Brands/Trading names covered:

Santander ISA Managers Limited

Number of complaints opened by volume of business

Product/Service Group

Provision (at reporting period end date)* 

Intermediation (within the reporting Period)* 

Number of complaints opened 

Number of complaints closed 

Percentage closed within 3 days 

Percentage closed after 3 days but within 8 weeks

Percentage upheld

Main cause
of complaints
opened

Banking & Credit Cards

5.3 per 1000 accounts

N/A
 

133,962

132,027

72%

27% 

44%

Other general
admin/
customer
service

Home Finance

9.0 per 1000 balances outstanding

N/A
 

11,236

10,743

57%

42%

62%

Other general
admin/
customer
service

Insurance and Pure Protection**

56.9 per 1000 policies in force

N/A
 

34,382

41,221

1%

74%

62%

Unclear guidance/
arrangement

Decumulation & Pensions***
 

N/A

N/A 

64

64

16%

38%

47%

Unsuitable advice

Investments**
 

4.3 per 1000 client accounts

N/A

1,320

1,453

2%

72%

43%  

Unsuitable advice

Credit Related

7.6 per 1000 loans

N/A

2,794

2,759

N/A 

N/A

51%

N/A

We put the complaints figures into context using ‘per 1000’ metrics so that comparisons can be made across firms of different sizes.
Helpful notes to explain the data:

* The 'Provision' metric is used when a firm is the product provider, using the total volume of accounts held as at the end of the reporting half (31/12/2017). The 'Intermediation' metric is used when a firm is only responsible for selling the product (but isn't the provider), using the volumes of sales made during the reporting half (01/07/2017 to 31/12/2017).

** For the 'General Insurance & Pure Protection' and 'Investments' product groups, while Santander UK is responsible for selling the product, we have used the provision metric to provide more meaningful context, as we did for H1 2017.

***Decumulation, life and pensions products - Santander continues to resolve complaints relating to the advice provided at point of sale for a variety of different historic group companies. Santander had stopped advising on or selling any of these products by June 2011 and they are now either owned or administered by 3rd party firms.

Firm Name:

Santander ISA Managers Limited

Group (If Applicable):    

Santander

Other firms included in this report (If any):

-

Period covered in this report:

 01 July 2017 – 31 December 2017

Brands/Trading names covered:

Santander ISA Managers Limited

Number of complaints opened by volume of business

Product / Service Group

Provision (at reporting period end date)*

Intermediation (within the reporting period)*

Number of complaints opened

Number of complaints closed

Percentage closed within 3 days

Percentage closed after 3 days but within 8 weeks

Percentage upheld

Main cause of complaints opened

Investments

3.7 per 1000 client accounts

N/A

1,135

1,385

56%
 

40%

53%

Other general admin / customer service

The Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) publishes firms' complaints figures and provides analysis on the recent industry complaint data. The FCA has recently made some changes to how firms should handle and report complaints. You can find more information about this here

The Financial Ombudsman Service (FOS) also publishes information about how many complaints they receive from firms and the result of these. They also provide guidance on aspects of complaints handling and produce informative publications, putting topical issues under the microscope.

Send us a tweet

Please don’t tweet your personal

  or banking details

Visit us in branch