Complaints data

Continually improving the service we offer and reducing the number of complaints we receive is very important to us. We regularly review the information we have about your complaints, which helps us to understand how we can make improvements.

What we publish

Every 6 months we publish the number of customer complaints we've received for the previous half year. We also put these figures into context using the type of products complained about.

Why we publish

The FCA require us to provide this information directly to them as well as on our own website, just as other firms have to. This data can be used as an indicator of how well we're serving our customers, for comparison purposes and also demonstrates the improvements we're making to reduce the number of complaints we receive.

Firm Name

Santander UK Plc

Group (If Applicable):

Santander

Other firms included in this report (If any):

-

Period covered in this report:

01 January 2019 – 30 June 2019

Brands/Trading names covered:

Santander & Cahoot


Number of complaints opened by volume of business

Product /Service Group

Provision (at reporting period end date)*

Intermediation (within the reporting period)

Number of complaints opened

Number of complaints closed

Percentage closed within 3 days

Percentage closed after 3 days but within 8 weeks

Percentage Upheld

Main cause of complaints opened

Banking & Credit Cards

 4.3 per 1000 accounts

N/A

112,585

112,029

75%

24%

38%

Other general admin / customer service

Home Finance

7.5 per 1000 balances outstanding

N/A

9,087

8,891

56%

43%

52%

Other general admin / customer service

Insurance & Pure Protection**

85.1 per 1000 policies in force

N/A

46,905

38,323

0%

73%

64%

Unclear guidance / arrangement

Decumulation & Pensions***

N/A

N/A

53

45

13%

44%

44%

Unsuitable advice

Investments**

4.9 per 1000 client accounts

N/A

1,374

1,263

2%

64%

19%

Unsuitable advice

Credit Related

6.3 per 1000 loans

N/A

2,328

2,287

N/A

N/A

49%

N/A


We put the complaints figures into context using ‘per 000’ metrics so that comparisons can be made across firms of different sizes.
Helpful notes to explain the data:

* The 'Provision' metric is used when a firm is the product provider, using the total volume of accounts held as at the end of the reporting half (30/06/2019). The 'Intermediation' metric is used when a firm is only responsible for selling the product (but isn't the provider), using the volumes of sales made during the reporting half (01/01/2018 to 30/06/2019).

** For the 'General Insurance & Pure Protection' and 'Investments' product groups, while Santander UK is responsible for selling the product, we have used the provision metric to provide more meaningful context, as we did for H1 2018

***Decumulation, life and pensions products - Santander continues to resolve complaints relating to the advice provided at point of sale for a variety of different historic group companies. Santander had stopped advising on or selling any of these products by June 2011 and they are now either owned or administered by 3rd party firms.

Firm Name:

Santander ISA Managers Limited

Group (If Applicable):

Santander

Other firms included in this report (If any):

-

Period covered in this report:

1  January 2019 – 30 June 2019

Brands/Trading names covered:

Santander ISA Managers Limited


Number of complaints opened by volume of business

Product /Service Group

Provision (at reporting period end date)

Intermediation (within the reporting period)

Number of complaints opened

Number of complaints closed

Percentage closed within 3 days

Percentage closed after 3 days but within 8 weeks

Percentage Upheld

Main cause of complaints opened

Investments 

2.5 per 1000 client accounts

N/A

715

740

51%

46%

45%

Product performance / features

 

Firm Name

Santander UK Plc

Group (If Applicable):

Santander

Other firms included in this report (If any):

-

Period covered in this report:

01 July 2018 – 31 December 2018

Brands/Trading names covered:

Santander & Cahoot

Number of complaints opened by volume of business

Product /Service Group

Provision (at reporting period end date)*

Intermediation (within the reporting period)

Number of complaints opened

Number of complaints closed

Percentage closed within 3 days

Percentage closed after 3 days but within 8 weeks

Percentage Upheld

Main cause of complaints opened

Banking & Credit Cards

 4.7 per 1000 accounts

N/A

120,958

121,166

80%

20%

40%

Other general admin / customer service

Home Finance

7.3 per 1000 balances outstanding

N/A

8,856

8,933

57%

42%

55%

Other general admin / customer service

Insurance & Pure Protection**

60.4 per 1000 policies in force

N/A

34,423

35,049

1%

96%

64%

Unclear guidance / arrangement

Decumulation & Pensions***

N/A

N/A

63

61

18%

70%

33%

Unsuitable advice

Investments**

3.3 per 1000 client accounts

N/A

959

909

2%

83%

31%

Unsuitable advice

Credit Related

6.9 per 1000 loans

N/A

2,561

2,548

N/A

N/A

52%

N/A

We put the complaints figures into context using ‘per 000’ metrics so that comparisons can be made across firms of different sizes.
Helpful notes to explain the data:

* The 'Provision' metric is used when a firm is the product provider, using the total volume of accounts held as at the end of the reporting half (31/12/2018). The 'Intermediation' metric is used when a firm is only responsible for selling the product (but isn't the provider), using the volumes of sales made during the reporting half (01/07/2018 to 31/12/2018).

** For the 'General Insurance & Pure Protection' and 'Investments' product groups, while Santander UK is responsible for selling the product, we have used the provision metric to provide more meaningful context, as we did for H1 2018

***Decumulation, life and pensions products - Santander continues to resolve complaints relating to the advice provided at point of sale for a variety of different historic group companies. Santander had stopped advising on or selling any of these products by June 2011 and they are now either owned or administered by 3rd party firms.

Firm Name:

Santander ISA Managers Limited

Group (If Applicable):

Santander

Other firms included in this report (If any):

-

Period covered in this report:

1 July 2018 – 31 December 2018

Brands/Trading names covered:

Santander ISA Managers Limited

Number of complaints opened by volume of business 

Product /Service Group

Provision (at reporting period end date)

Intermediation (within the reporting period)

Number of complaints opened

Number of complaints closed

Percentage closed within 3 days

Percentage closed after 3 days but within 8 weeks

Percentage Upheld

Main cause of complaints opened

Investments 

3.3 per 1000 client accounts

N/A

965

946

59%

39%

49%

Product performance / features

The Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) publishes firms' complaints figures and provides analysis on the recent industry complaint data. The FCA has recently made some changes to how firms should handle and report complaints. You can find more information about this here

The Financial Ombudsman Service (FOS) also publishes information about how many complaints they receive from firms and the result of these. They also provide guidance on aspects of complaints handling and produce informative publications, putting topical issues under the microscope.

Send us a tweet

Please don’t tweet your personal

  or banking details

Visit us in branch