Complaints data

Continually improving the service we offer and reducing the number of complaints we receive is very important to us. We regularly review the information we have about your complaints, which helps us to understand how we can make improvements.

What we publish

Every 6 months we publish the number of customer complaints we've received for the previous half year. We also put these figures into context using the type of products complained about.

Why we publish

The FCA require us to provide this information directly to them as well as on our own website, just as other firms have to. This data can be used as an indicator of how well we're serving our customers, for comparison purposes and also demonstrates the improvements we're making to reduce the number of complaints we receive.

Firm NameSantander UK Plc
Group (If Applicable):Santander
Other firms included in this report (If any):-
Period covered in this report:01 January 2021 – 30 June 2021
Brands/Trading names covered:Santander & Cahoot

Number of complaints opened by volume of business

Product /Service GroupProvision (at reporting period end date)*Intermediation (within the reporting period)*Number of complaints openedNumber of complaints closedPercentage closed within 3 daysPercentage closed after 3 days but within 8 weeksPercentage UpheldMain cause of complaints opened
Banking & Credit Cards 3.0 per 1000 accountsN/A74,33074,36673%27%44%Errors / not following instructions
Home Finance5.8 per 1000 balances outstandingN/A6,9966,76356%44%51%Other General Admin / Customer Service
Insurance & Pure Protection**2.8 per 1000 policies in forceN/A1,41414,4893%36%5%Unclear guidance / arrangement
Decumulation & Pensions***N/AN/A373531%34%40%Unsuitable advice
Investments**1.1 per 1000 client accountsN/A2722823%63%15%Unsuitable advice
Credit Related6.1 per 1000 loansN/A2,9412,887N/AN/A39%N/A

We put the complaints figures into context using ‘per 000’ metrics so that comparisons can be made across firms of different sizes.
Helpful notes to explain the data:

* The 'Provision' metric is used when a firm is the product provider, using the total volume of accounts held as at the end of the reporting half (30/06/2021). The 'Intermediation' metric is used when a firm is only responsible for selling the product (but isn't the provider), using the volumes of sales made during the reporting half (01/01/2021 to 30/06/2021).

** For the 'General Insurance & Pure Protection' and 'Investments' product groups, while Santander UK is responsible for selling the product, we have used the provision metric to provide more meaningful context, as we did for H2 2020

***Decumulation, life and pensions products - Santander continues to resolve complaints relating to the advice provided at point of sale for a variety of different historic group companies. Santander had stopped advising on or selling any of these products by June 2011 and they are now either owned or administered by 3rd party firms.
 

Firm NameSantander ISA Managers Limited
Group (If Applicable):Santander
Other firms included in this report (If any):-
Period covered in this report:1  January 2021 – 30 June 2021
Brands/Trading names covered:Santander ISA Managers Limited
Product /Service GroupProvision (at reporting period end date)Intermediation (within the reporting period)Number of complaints openedNumber of complaints closedPercentage closed within 3 daysPercentage closed after 3 days but within 8 weeksPercentage UpheldMain cause of complaints opened
Investments  3.4 per 1000 client accountsN/A83387812%83%47%Other General Admin/Customer Service
Firm NameSantander UK Plc
Group (If Applicable):Santander
Other firms included in this report (If any):-
Period covered in this report:01 July 2020 – 31 December 2020
Brands/Trading names covered:Santander & Cahoot

Number of complaints opened by volume of business

Product /Service GroupProvision (at reporting period end date)*Intermediation (within the reporting period)*Number of complaints openedNumber of complaints closedPercentage closed within 3 daysPercentage closed after 3 days but within 8 weeksPercentage UpheldMain cause of complaints opened
Banking & Credit Cards 3.1 per 1000 accountsN/A76,99177,18569%31%41%Other General Admin / Customer Service
Home Finance6.8 per 1000 balances outstandingN/A8,2498,42956%44%54%Product Performance / Features
Insurance & Pure Protection**17.3 per 1000 policies in forceN/A8,683139,6151%1%14%Unclear guidance / arrangement
Decumulation & Pensions***N/AN/A384013%58%40%Unsuitable advice
Investments**1.6 per 1000 client accountsN/A3943941%68%14%Unsuitable advice
Credit Related8.5 per 1000 loansN/A4,2224,466N/AN/A39%N/A

We put the complaints figures into context using ‘per 000’ metrics so that comparisons can be made across firms of different sizes.
Helpful notes to explain the data:

* The 'Provision' metric is used when a firm is the product provider, using the total volume of accounts held as at the end of the reporting half (31/12/2020). The 'Intermediation' metric is used when a firm is only responsible for selling the product (but isn't the provider), using the volumes of sales made during the reporting half (01/07/2020 to 31/12/2020).

** For the 'General Insurance & Pure Protection' and 'Investments' product groups, while Santander UK is responsible for selling the product, we have used the provision metric to provide more meaningful context, as we did for H1 2020

***Decumulation, life and pensions products - Santander continues to resolve complaints relating to the advice provided at point of sale for a variety of different historic group companies. Santander had stopped advising on or selling any of these products by June 2011 and they are now either owned or administered by 3rd party firms.

Firm NameSantander ISA Managers Limited
Group (If Applicable):Santander
Other firms included in this report (If any):-
Period covered in this report:01 July 2020 – 31 December 2020
Brands/Trading names covered:Santander ISA Managers Limited
Product /Service GroupProvision (at reporting period end date)Intermediation (within the reporting period)Number of complaints openedNumber of complaints closedPercentage closed within 3 daysPercentage closed after 3 days but within 8 weeksPercentage UpheldMain cause of complaints opened
Investments  2.3 per 1000 client accountsN/A58051636%61%38%Other General Admin/Customer Service

The Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) publishes firms' complaints figures and provides analysis on the recent industry complaint data. The FCA has recently made some changes to how firms should handle and report complaints. You can find more information about this here

The Financial Ombudsman Service (FOS) also publishes information about how many complaints they receive from firms and the result of these. They also provide guidance on aspects of complaints handling and produce informative publications, putting topical issues under the microscope.

Was this helpful?

Ask us a question

We'll help you get the

 answers you need

Do your banking online

Ways for you to manage your

 money without leaving home