You are in

Complaints data

Complaints data

Continually improving the service we offer and reducing the number of complaints we receive is very important to us. We regularly review the information we have about your complaints, which helps us to understand how we can make improvements.

What we publish
Every 6 months we publish the number of FCA customer complaints we've received for the previous half year. We also put these figures into context using the type of products complained about.

Why we publish
The FCA require us to provide this information directly to them as well as on our own website, just as other firms have to. This data can be used as an indicator of how well we're serving our customers, for comparison purposes and also demonstrates the improvements we're making to reduce the number of complaints we receive.

What's changed recently
Up until 30 June 2016, the FCA required firms to report the volume of complaints they hadn’t resolved by 'close of the next business day'.

From 30 June 2016 onwards, firms will be including all complaints they receive within their complaints data, including those resolved by 'close of the next business day'. Naturally this new reporting requirement will result in the banking industry reporting more complaints than before, but it doesn't necessarily mean that firms are receiving more complaints than they were before or that they are handling them any differently.

This more transparent way of reporting will enhance the information available going forward, although it does mean that comparisons between the old and new style data can't be made.
 

Firm Name: Santander UK plc
 Group (If Applicable):  Santander
 Other firms included in this report (If any):  -
 Period covered in this report:  01 July 2016 – 31 December 2016
 Brands/Trading names covered:  Santander & Cahoot
  Number of complaints opened by volume of business  
Product / Service Group Provision (at reporting period end date)* Intermediation (within the reporting Period)* Number of complaints opened Number of complaints closed Percentage closed within 3 days Percentage closed after 3 days but within 8 weeks Percentage upheld Main cause of complaints opened
Banking & Credit Cards  4.4 per 1000 accounts N/A 115,286 114,845 72% 27% 52% Other general admin / customer service
Home Finance 7.8 per 1000 balances outstanding N/A 9,755  10,475 29% 49% 61% Other general admin / customer service
Insurance and Pure Protection** 25.6 per 1000 policies in force N/A 22,279 18,521 1% 97% 74% Unsuitable advice
Decumulation & Pensions***  N/A N/A 67  68  12% 59% 34% Unsuitable advice
Investments** 12.3 per 1000 client accounts N/A 4,009  4,562 10% 80% 69% Unsuitable advice
Credit Related 6.4 per 1000 loans N/A 2,398 2,673 N/A N/A 60% N/A

We put the complaints figures into context using ‘per 1000’ metrics so that comparisons can be made across firms of different sizes.

Helpful notes to explain the data:

* The 'Provision' metric is used when a firm is the product provider, using the total volume of accounts held as at the end of the reporting half (31/12/2016). The 'Intermediation' metric is used when a firm is only responsible for selling the product (but isn't the provider), using the volumes of sales made during the reporting half (01/07/2016 to 31/12/2016).

** For the 'General Insurance & Pure Protection' and 'Investments' product groups, while Santander UK is responsible for selling the product, we have used the provision metric to provide more meaningful context for H2 2016.

***Decumulation, life and pensions products - Santander continues to resolve complaints relating to the advice provided at point of sale for a variety of different historic group companies. Santander had stopped advising on or selling any of these products by June 2011 and they are now either owned or administered by 3rd party firms.
 

"Helping people and businesses prosper through providing simple, personal and fair banking lies at the heart of our strategy. Coupled with that, offering customers a seamless experience and excellent service is fundamental to the way we work.

While we have made good progress in both how we handle complaints and with our customer satisfaction scores, we know we still have more to do and remain unwavering in our commitment to deliver an exceptional customer experience.”

Sue Willis, Managing Director of Customer Experience & Complaints

Committed to our customers

How we're making a difference

Committed to our customers
We're always disappointed when one of our customers feels the need to complain, but where we've made a mistake, we work hard to resolve it and, of course, say sorry.
Improved customer satisfaction

While we're pleased that the Financial Research Survey (FRS), the recognised benchmark in customer service amongst banks, shows Santander UK significantly improved customer satisfaction in the last year and is now at its highest level for the last 3 years* (June 2016), we know we have more to do to ensure all our customer receive the experience they expect from Santander.

FRS also reported a significant improvement in customer satisfaction for current accounts last year, with satisfaction scores rising to 70.4%* (June 2016).

Our commitment to our customers produced some encouraging results
  • The 2016 Moneywise Awards - based on research among 24,000 banking customers - revealed that Santander is the 'most trusted' UK bank. The award goes to the company that has consistently earned their customers' trust through consistently good service and competitive products. Santander also received the award for the 'most trusted small business banking provider', recognising the support provided to all small businesses across the UK.

  • Influential website moneysavingexpert.com most recent poll of customer satisfaction (August 2016) shows Santander customers rank their satisfaction with us higher than any of our main high street banking competitors.

  • We now have 4.9m 1|2|3 World customers, adding 276,000 new customers since the beginning of 2016.
We've still got more to do
Although we’re pleased that we’ve made progress and that this is being recognised, we know there’s still much to do. We constantly monitor our complaints process to ensure we resolve issues quickly when they do arise, while getting the correct outcome for our customers.
Follow our results
Every six months, Santander, along with all the major banks and building societies, publishes details of the volume of complaints reportable to the Financial Conduct Authority.
 
The Financial Research Survey (‘FRS’) is a monthly personal finance survey of around 5,000 consumers prepared by the independent market research agency, GfK. “Customer Satisfaction” refers to the proportion of extremely and very satisfied customers across mortgages, savings, main current accounts, home insurance, UPLs and credit cards, based on a weighting of those products calculated to reflect the average product distribution across Santander UK and competitor brands. Data is for the 12 months ending 31 June 2016 and compared against twelve months ending data for the periods indicated. The competitor set used to calculate the product weights is made up of Barclays, Halifax, HSBC, Lloyds Bank, Nationwide and NatWest.

 

Previous results

You can look back at our historical complaints data below:

Complaints data 01/01/2016 – 30/06/2016
Firm Name: Santander UK plc
 Group (If Applicable):  Santander
 Other firms included in this report (If any):  -
 Period covered in this report:  1 January 2016 – 30 June 2016
 Brands/Trading names covered:  Santander & Cahoot

 

  Number of complaints opened Number of complaints closed Complaints closed within 8 weeks (%) Closed complaints upheld by firm (%)
Banking & Credit Cards  58,199 57,743 99% 46%
Home Finance 8,760 7,536 95%  61%
General Insurance and Pure Protection  24,306 24,121 97%  66%
Decumulation, Life & Pensions   735  798 86%  34%
Investments  2,453 3,398 93%  80%
Credit Related* 2,216 1,897 98% 48%
Total  96,669 95,493 98%  53%


To put the above figures into context:

  • We had c.26.5 million banking accounts. For every 1,000 accounts, 2.2 customers contacted us to complain.

  • In home finance, we had c.1.3 million loans outstanding. For every 1,000 loans outstanding, 6.5 customers contacted us to complain.

  • For every 1,000 general insurance and pure protection accounts, 36.4 customers contacted us to complain.

  • For every 1,000 investment accounts, 6.8 customers contacted us to complain.

  • Decumulation, life and pensions products - Santander continues to resolve complaints relating to the advice provided at point of sale for a variety of different historic group companies. Santander had stopped advising on or selling any of these products by June 2011, they are now either owned or administered by 3rd party firms

*Credit Related - The FCA has taken over the regulation of Consumer Credit from the Office of Fair Trading (OFT).  All FCA regulated financial institutions providing consumer credit products or services were required to apply for a consumer Credit Licence.  Santander UK PLC has been granted their consumer credit licence from the FCA and therefore will provide complaint figures relating to this product group.
 

Complaints data 01/07/2015 – 31/12/2015
Firm Name: Santander UK plc
Group (if applicable): Santander
Other firms included in this report (if any): -
Period covered in this report: 1 July 2015 – 31 December 2015
Brands / Trading names covered: Alliance & Leicester, Cahoot, Santander.

 

  Number of complaints opened Number of complaints closed Complaints closed within 8 weeks (%) Closed complaints upheld by firm (%)

Banking & Credit Cards

64,622 66,285 99% 42%

Home Finance

7,331 7,324 99% 55%

General Insurance and Pure Protection

27,794 30,369 99% 63%

Decumulation, Life & Pensions

799 842 90% 32%
Investments 1,375 1,620 77% 53%
Total 101,921 106,440 98% 49%

 

  • We had c.29 million banking accounts. For every 1,000 accounts, 2.2 customers contacted us to complain.

  • In home finance, we had c.1.4 million loans outstanding. For every 1,000 loans outstanding, 5.4 customers contacted us to complain.

  • For every 1,000 general insurance and pure protection accounts, 39.8 customers contacted us to complain.

  • For every 1,000 investment accounts, 3.4 customers contacted us to complain.

  • Decumulation, life and pensions products - Santander continues to resolve complaints relating to the advice provided at point of sale for a variety of different historic group companies. Santander had stopped advising on or selling any of these products by June 2011, they are now either owned or administered by 3rd party firms 

Complaints data 01/01/2015 - 30/06/2015
Firm Name: Santander UK plc
Group (if applicable): Santander
Other firms included in this report (if any): -
Period covered in this report: 1 January 2015 - 30 June 2015
Brands / Trading names covered: Alliance & Leicester, cahoot, Santander, Santander Cards Ltd.

 

  Number of complaints opened Number of complaints closed Complaints closed within 8 weeks (%) Closed complaints upheld by firm (%)

Banking & Credit Cards

80,566 80,351 96% 42%

Home Finance

8,517 8,539 95% 53%

General Insurance and Pure Protection

26,733 24,323 98% 56%

Decumulation, Life & Pensions

1,123 1,109 89% 32%
Investments 4,375 3,388 61% 49%
Total 121,314 117,710 96% 45%

 

  • We had c.29 million banking accounts. For every 1,000 accounts, 2.7 customers contacted us to complain.

  • In home finance, we had c.1.4 million loans outstanding. For every 1,000 loans outstanding, 6.1 customers contacted us to complain.

  • For every 1,000 general insurance and pure protection accounts, 30.9 customers contacted us to complain.

  • For every 1,000 investment accounts, 7.2 customers contacted us to complain.

  • Decumulation, life and pensions products - Santander continues to resolve complaints relating to the advice provided at point of sale for a variety of different historic group companies. Santander had stopped advising on or selling any of these products by June 2011, they are now either owned or administered by 3rd party firms 

Complaints data 01/07/2014 - 31/12/2014
Firm Name: Santander UK plc
Group (if applicable): Santander
Other firms included in this report (if any): -
Period covered in this report: 1 July 2014 - 31 December 2014
Brands/Trading names covered: Alliance & Leicester, cahoot, Santander, Santander Cards Ltd.

 

  Number of complaints opened Number of complaints closed Complaints closed within 8 weeks (%) Closed complaints upheld by firm (%)
Banking & Credit 82,953 84,080 96% 43%
Mortgages & Home Finance 9,728 10,615 88% 54%
General Insurance 26,732 26,702 97% 58%
Decumulation, Life & Pensions 1,138 1,346 70% 28%
Investments 4,278 3,040 68% 70%
Total 124,829 125,783 95% 48%

 

  • We had c.29 million banking accounts. For every 1,000 accounts, 2.8 customers contacted us to complain.

  • In home finance, we had c.1.4 million loans outstanding. For every 1,000 loans outstanding, 6.9 customers contacted us to complain.

  • For every 1,000 general insurance and pure protection accounts, 39.0 customers contacted us to complain.

  • For every 1,000 investment accounts, 8.5 customers contacted us to complain.

  • Decumulation, life and pensions products - Santander continues to resolve complaints relating to the advice provided at point of sale for a variety of different historic group companies. Santander had stopped advising on or selling any of these products by June 2011, they are now either owned or administered by 3rd party firms

 

The Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) publishes firms' complaints figures and provides analysis on the recent industry complaint data. The FCA has recently made some changes to how firms should handle and report complaints. You can find more information about this here

The Financial Ombudsman Service (FOS) also publishes information about how many complaints they receive from firms and the result of these. They also provide guidance on aspects of complaints handling and produce informative publications, putting topical issues under the microscope.

Santander UK plc. Registered Office: 2 Triton Square, Regent's Place, London, NW1 3AN, United Kingdom. Registered Number 2294747. Registered in England and Wales. www.santander.co.uk. Telephone 0800 389 7000. Calls may be recorded or monitored. Authorised by the Prudential Regulation Authority and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority and the Prudential Regulation Authority. Our Financial Services Register number is 106054. You can check this on the Financial Services Register by visiting the FCA’s website www.fca.org.uk/register. Santander and the flame logo are registered trademarks.